高级学者项目

预订电话咨询

高级学者项目:一步一步地申请12所美国最好的大学

8月31日加入

高级学者

步骤
1

学生在高二(11年级)的春季学期之后,便可加入我们的高级学者项目。顾问与学生一对一配对,提供高度定制化的指导,并为学生的高校申请做出反馈。学生们在1月初提交大学申请之后,参加我们的大学准备课程(College Readiness program)。

“在ESC中,我们学生之间非常不同,但交谈起来又都很有趣(我保证!)。加入我们的ESC午餐桌,很快你会发现自己在谈论关于星球大战,泰勒斯威夫特,古代哲学家,或者任何你想象的到和想象不到的其他话题!”

Eric Li ESC Class of 2015, Columbia University Class of 2019

申请季咨询

8月至1月

步骤
2

我们会在高三(12年级)开始前的暑假举办为期3天的系列讲座及学习班,叫做ESC学院(ESC Academy),并由此开始申请季的活动。学生们会考虑的话题包括“如何为文书做头脑风暴和准备提纲”、“破解院校调研”等。每个学生会与一位顾问配对,开展大学调研,制定各自的选校名单,为自己的文书集思广益、完善写作,以及准备面试。

项目目标:
  • 完成超过12所美国顶尖高校的申请
具体活动:
  • 对院校展开全面调研
  • 为学生量身打造合适的、全面的、平衡的选校名单
  • 为招生官面试、校友面试和第三方面试做准备
  • 为个人陈述与补充文书做头脑风暴并完成撰写
  • 为学生与所申请院校的ESC校友建立联系

“我最喜欢的是ESC社区的支持和紧密联系。做好心理准备,在你的论文准备好之前,你的顾问会要求你做多少次修改,但是一旦我有了最终版本,我知道我付出的所有努力都是值得的.”

Jennifer Hong ESC Class of 2015, Duke University Class of 2019

选校指导

4月-5月

步骤
3

我们的学生在收到录取邮件之后,顾问会与他们合作确定适合学生的最佳选择。我们会为学生与被录取学校的ESC校友建立联系,仔细查阅学校网站,并与学生的家长促膝长谈,确保学生得以在最终选择的学校中茁壮成长。

项目目标:
  • 根据学生的需求和偏好选择最佳院校

具体活动:

  • 深入研究学生被录取的每一所学校
  • 为学生与被录取大学中的ESC校友建立联系
  • 与家庭会面,讨论学生与家庭的需求和偏好

大学预备项目

2月至6月

步骤
4

我们与学生的工作在收到录取结果后不会停止。在他们的大学录取之后,我们希望我们的学生能够在大学校园里茁壮成长。每年春天,ESC都会经过丰富的规划,为大一新生们做好准备,迎接高等教育的严酷挑战。我们邀请到的英语写作教授来自顶尖高校,例如哥伦比亚大学、宾夕法尼亚大学和威尔斯利学院,他们将为我们学生们教授强化写作课程。这些课程能够确保我们的学生顺利过渡到沉浸式的英语环境,并在未来的美国课堂中茁壮成长。我们的“大学101系列(College 101 Series)”是由顾问领衔的指导教程,从学术、社会和人际关系等方面向学生们介绍大学生活。还有“迷你调查研讨会(Mini Inquiry Seminars)”,涉及话题广泛,从“通过食物来看中美差异”到“嘻哈音乐的崛起”。通过这些项目,我们的学生可以融入令人振奋的学术环境,并学会在美国校园文化中如鱼得水。

项目目标:
  • 为过渡到美国高等教育系统所面临的严酷挑战做好准备
具体活动:
  • 与将在秋季入学同一所学校的ESC校友建立联系
  • 参与不同主题的学院风格研讨会
  • 完成由客座大学教授指导的英语学术写作课程
  • 通过大学预备项目,了解美国大学生活
  • 与ESC工作人员、顾问及ESC校友们在高校欢送派对上狂欢!

家长指导工作坊

步骤
5

我们希望我们的父母能够顺利地参与孩子的申请过程。 许多人并没有自己出国留学,也不熟悉美国的大学制度。 为了深入了解这个令人畏缩的大学申请流程,我们举办了一系列的教育研讨会,向家庭介绍美国高等教育的不同方面,或者解决围绕申请流程的常见错误观念。 主题范围从“为什么适合,不排名,重要”到“早期决策的利弊”。 我们经常邀请ESC校友的家长在现在的ESC学生的家长的申请季节中讲述和分享他们对于育儿挑战的看法。

Senior Scholars Program

book a phone consultation

Senior Scholars Program: A step by step approach to apply to 12 of America’s best colleges

Join by August 31st

Senior Scholars Transition

Step
1

After the spring semester of their Grade 11 year, students transition into our Senior Scholars Program. Each student is paired 1-on-1 with a consultant who offers them highly individualized guidance and feedback on their applications to colleges. 

“ESC is always a very welcoming and supportive community. Talking to my counselor was like having a little nice and informative conversation with my old friend.”

Lucy Du ESC Class of 2017, Stanford University Class of 2021

Application Season Counseling

from August to January

Step
2

We kick off the application season in the summer before Grade 12 with an intensive three-day lecture and workshop series called ESC Academy.  Students consider topics such as “How to Brainstorm and Outline Essays” and “Cracking College Research.”  Each student is then paired with a consultant to research schools, curate a custom college list, brainstorm and refine their essays, and prepare for interviews.

We view the college process as an important time for student growth.  Our consultants work closely with students to sharpen their time-management skills, employ newly-learned writing techniques, and articulate their passions and identities.  Our low student to consultant ratio (maximum 8:1, often lower) allows consultants to support their students to the fullest: our consultants and students form mentor-mentee relationships that last well beyond the application season.

Objective :
  • Complete 12+ applications to top American colleges and universities  
Activities :
  • Conduct thorough school research
  • Build comprehensive, balanced school lists that prioritize student fit
  • Prepare for admission officer, alumni, and third-party interviews
  • Brainstorm and write the personal statement and supplemental college essays
  • Connect with ESC alumni at schools to which student is applying

“What I love the most is how supportive and close-knit the ESC community is. Be mentally prepared for how many revisions your counselor will ask you to do before your essays are ready, but once I had my final versions, I knew all the effort I put in was worth it.”

Jennifer Hong ESC Class of 2015, Duke University Class of 2019

College Decision Guidance

From April to May

Step
3

After our students have received their acceptance letters in the mail, consultants and students collaborate to determine which school is the best choice for the student to attend. Through connecting students with ESC alumni at the schools to which they have been accepted, digging through school websites, and long conversations with the students’ families, we ensure that each of our students ends up at a school where (s)he will thrive.

Objective :
  • Select the best college, given a student’s needs and preferences
Activities :
  • Meet with families to discuss student and family needs and preferences
  • Conduct deep research on each school where the student has been accepted
  • Connect student with ESC alumni at the schools to which they have been accepted

College Readiness Programs

From February to June

Step
4

Our work with students does not stop after they receive their admissions results. Following their college acceptances, we want our students to build upon the skills they will need to succeed on their college campuses. Each spring, ESC offers extensive programming aimed at preparing our rising college freshmen for the rigors of higher education. In our “College 101 Series,” consultants lead tutorials that introduce academic, social, and interpersonal aspects of college life to our students. We also bring English writing professors from schools such as Columbia, UPenn, and Wellesley to teach intensive writing classes to our students. These classes ensure that our thrive in their American classrooms.

Objective :
  • Prepare for the rigors of transitioning to the American higher education system
Activities :
  • Connect with other ESC alumni who will matriculate to the same school in the fall
  • Attend college-style seminars on a variety of topics
  • Complete English Academic Writing class led by visiting college professors
  • Learn about life in college through the College Readiness Program
  • Celebrate at ESC’s College Send-off Party with fellow ESC-ers, consultants, and ESC alumni!   

Parent Educational Workshops

Step
5

We want our parents to be in the loop and participating knowledgeably in their child’s application process. Many have not studied abroad themselves and are not familiar with the American university system. In order to offer insight into the daunting college application process, we host a series series of educational workshops that introduce families to different aspects of American higher education or address common misconceptions surrounding the application process. Topics range from “Why Fit, Not Ranking, Is Important” to “The Advantages and Disadvantages of Early Decision.” We often invite parents of ESC alumni to speak and share their perspectives on the challenges of parenting during the application season with parents of current ESC students.